Publicado el: 24 May, 2019 Publicado por: Comunicación Comentarios: 0

Acto de ingreso del Dr. Jorge Alió en la American Ophthalmological Society (AOS)Dr. Alio was officially presented as a member of the society at the ‘155th Annual Meeting of the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS) ‘

Dr. Jorge Alio is turning a new page in the Spanish history of ophthalmology by becoming the only Spanish member of the prestigious and exclusive American Society of Ophthalmology, founded in 1864. The official presentation of Dr. Alio, the professor of Ophthalmology at the Miguel Hernandez University (UMH) of Elche, took place at the ‘155th Annual Meeting of the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS) 2019 ‘, along with the presentation of twelve other professionals from all over the world. Dr. Jorge Alio, an expert in diseases of the anterior segment of the eye at the international level, has reached yet another milestone in his career, since the access to this society is very restrictive. First of all the request should be approved by two members, with no objection from other members. Secondly, the candidate has to write a thesis, which must be admitted and published in the American Journal of Ophthalmology.

At this ophthalmological meeting, inaugurated by Professor Marcus Zarbin, Alio met professionals such as Bruce Spyvey, founder of the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) and the World Ophthalmology Congress (WOC); the German doctor Licht, world authority in corneal dystrophies; Peter Lainson, historian of American corneal surgery; and Dimitri Azar, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine in Chicago, who also has co-authored several book on refractive surgery with Jorge Alio.

Moreover, during the presentation ceremony Jorge Alio signed the book as a new member of the American Society of Ophthalmology, which consists of 160 members. The ceremony took place at the Greenbrier hotel in Virginia, one of the oldest and most historic of the United States.

It should be also reminded, that Jorge Alio, who has recently entered the ‘Forbes’ list of the 100 best doctors in Spain, being one of the six Spanish ophthalmologists, is famous for his studies on cell therapy for treatment of keratoconus at advanced stages. Moreover, he was a pioneer in the introduction of refractive surgery in Spain, along with new techniques for corneal transplantation and intraocular lenses. He is also a specialist in cataract surgery, as well as an exclusive technique for eye colour changes for cosmetic or therapeutic reasons.

The Crystal room of the The Greenbrier hotel was chosen as a venue for the official presentation of the thirteen new members of the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS):

Jorge Alio, MD, PhD, FEBO

Robert Clark, MD

Zelia Correa, MD, PhD

David Garway-Heath, MBBS, MD (res), FRCOphth

J. William Harbour, MD

Bennie Jeng, MD, MS

Colin McCannel, MD

Richard Rosen, MD

Johanna Seddon, MD, ScM

H. Nida Sen, MD, MHS

Carla Siegfried, MD

Carlo Traverso, MD

Edward Wladis, MD